Monday, October 30, 2023

University of Iowa faculty, staff, and students have been named to the search committee for a new dean of the College of Pharmacy.

Photo of Clark Stanford
Clark Stanford

Executive Vice President and Provost Kevin Kregel has named Clark Stanford, dean of the College of Dentistry, Edwin B. Green Chair in Dental Leadership, and professor in the Roy J. Carver Department of Biomedical Engineering in the College of Engineering, and Nicole Brogden, the Ting-Fong and Nei-Jia Chin Professor in Pharmaceutics in the College of Pharmacy and associate professor of dermatology in the Carver College of Medicine, as co-chairs of the committee.

Stanford was named dean of the College of Dentistry in April 2022. Before joining Iowa, Stanford was dean of the College of Dentistry at the University of Illinois Chicago, where he was also professor in the Department of Bioengineering in the UIC College of Engineering.

Photo of Nicole Brogden
Nicole Brogden

Brogden is a clinical pharmacist and pharmaceutical scientist and has been on the College of Pharmacy faculty since 2012. She serves as principal investigator of an NIH-funded translational research program centered around topical and transdermal drug delivery in humans, with an emphasis on microneedle drug delivery.

Joining Stanford and Brogden on the search committee will be:

  • Michael Brownlee, associate director and chief pharmacy officer, UI Hospitals & Clinics; associate dean for clinical education and clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice and science, College of Pharmacy
  • Jay Currie, clinical professor and chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science
  • Jonathan Doorn, professor and chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Experimental Therapeutics
  • Samantha Franck-Rezac, director of analytical laboratories, UI Pharmaceuticals
  • Kate Gainer, executive vice president and CEO, Iowa Pharmacy Association; College of Pharmacy Executive Leadership Board member 
  • Sarah Russett, associate vice president of health sciences development, UI Center for Advancement
  • Mary Schroeder, associate professor of pharmacy practice and science, Faculty Council representative
  • Kisara Thompson, third-year PharmD candidate, College of Pharmacy
  • Joanne Wakeman, associate director regulatory affairs for chemistry, manufacturing and controls for the pharmaceutical manufacturing company AbbVie, and College of Pharmacy Genesis Board member

The new dean will succeed Donald E. Letendre, who announced in October his intent to step down as dean and return to faculty once his replacement is hired.

The search firm WittKieffer has been selected to assist with the process.

For more information about the search, see the College of Pharmacy dean search website.