Thursday, April 4, 2024

The University of Iowa has announced the search committee for the next vice president for research.

UI President Barbara Wilson in March named Denise Jamieson, vice president for medical affairs and dean of the Carver College of Medicine, and Jamie Jorgensen, vice president for legal affairs and general counsel, as co-chairs of the committee

J. Martin (Marty) Scholtz announced in February that he will step down as he nears completion of his five-year term. Scholtz has agreed to continue as vice president for research until his successor begins.

Joining Jamieson and Jorgensen on the search committee will be:

  • Saba Ali, associate dean for research and professor, College of Education
  • Jon Darsee, chief innovation officer, Office of Innovation
  • Mary Charlton, professor of epidemiology, College of Public Health, and Faculty Senate representative
  • Carrie Figdor, professor and director of undergraduate studies, Department of Philosophy; and professor, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • George Hospodarsky, research scientist and engineer, Department of Physics and Astronomy, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Emese Kovacs, graduate student representative
  • Charisse Madlock-Brown, associate professor of informatics, College of Nursing
  • Amisha Mohanty, undergraduate student representative
  • Kumar Narayanan, associate professor of neurology, Carver College of Medicine
  • Diane Rohlman, associate dean for research and professor and endowed chair in rural safety and health, College of Public Health
  • David Roman, associate dean for research and graduate education; and professor of pharmaceutical sciences and experimental therapeutics, College of Pharmacy
  • Sara Sanders, dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Nick Street, associate dean for research and PhD programs; and Tippie Children Professor in Business Analytics, Tippie College of Business
  • H.S. Udaykumar, associate dean for graduate programs, research, and faculty; Roy J. Carver Professor of Engineering; and professor of mechanical engineering, College of Engineering
  • Xian Jin Xie, associate dean for research; centennial professor; and director of biostatistics and computational biology, College of Dentistry

Laura McLeran, associate vice president for administrative affairs and senior advisor to the president, and Cheryl Reardon, chief human resources officer and associate vice president, will serve as ex-officio members.

The search firm Spencer Stuart has been selected to assist with the process.