Friday, February 9, 2024

The U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs has again named the University of Iowa a Fulbright Top Producing Institution for U.S. Students. 

This is the eighth year the UI has received the honor, given to U.S. colleges and universities that received the highest number of applicants selected for the 2023-24 Fulbright U.S. Student Program. 

Fulbright top producer graphic

“I am very proud that the University of Iowa once again has been named a Top Fulbright Producer,” says UI President Barbara J. Wilson. “This recognition shows our deep commitment to the role of international education in student success. Congratulations to our Fulbright recipients and thank you for being such amazing UI ambassadors to the entire world.” 

Fifteen UI students and alumni were chosen from about 10,000 Fulbright Award applicants nationwide to serve as representatives of the U.S. Department of State to teach English, serve in community organizations, enroll in graduate studies, and conduct research or creative projects in 13 countries during the 2023-24 academic year. 

Want to learn more?

Current students and alumni interested in applying for future Fulbright competitions should make an appointment with Fulbright program advisor Karen Wachsmuth to learn more about the application process. 

“Iowa’s continued recognition as a Top Fulbright Producer supports our reputation as a leader in global engagement,” says Russ Ganim, associate provost and dean of International Programs, which oversees the university's Fulbright program. “Moreover, it highlights the ecosystem that International Programs has built to ensure student success on an international level. Iowa’s elite Fulbright status shows the value our students, faculty, and staff place on internationalization.” 

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program is administered at Iowa through International Programs under the guidance of Fulbright program advisor Karen Wachsmuth. In the past decade, an impressive UI Fulbright team has been established, including two dedicated advisors, six Fulbright mentors from a variety of disciplines, a Fulbright librarian, a 40-member Fulbright faculty committee, and a dedicated alumni network of more than 100 Fulbright students and faculty. 

“UI students know that rigorous academic preparation, community service, and setting high goals as potential participants in the Fulbright program can open exciting new vistas, cultural opportunities for growth, and the chance to make a difference abroad,” says Wachsmuth. 

Being a top producer in this extremely competitive program reflects how many remarkable students attend the UI and how well they are supported, says Bill Reisinger, UI Fulbright faculty mentor and professor of political science.

“By experiencing a new culture in depth, our student recipients grow personally and professionally, and the international perspective they gain benefits them and our country throughout the years that follow,” Reisinger says.

Sarah Nunez, who received a Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship Award to Mexico in 2022-23, says she is grateful for the Fulbright experience, which helped her grow personally and professionally.

“After living abroad by myself in a country with a different culture and language, I now know I can do anything,” Nunez says. 

The Fulbright is the U.S. government's flagship international academic exchange program. Since 1946, the Fulbright program has provided more than 400,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and professionals of all backgrounds with the opportunity to study, teach, and conduct research abroad. Fulbrighters exchange ideas, build connections, and work to address complex global challenges. 

Fulbright alumni have included 41 heads of state or government, 62 Nobel Laureates, 89 Pulitzer Prize winners, 80 MacArthur Fellows, and countless leaders who build mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. 

2023-24 Faculty Mentors

Jeanine Abrons, clinical associate professor, College of Pharmacy 

Brenda Longfellow, associate professor, School of Art and Art History 

Kathleen Newman, associate professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese 

William Reisinger, professor, Department of Political Science 

Christopher Squier, professor emeritus, College of Dentistry 

Melissa Tully, director, School of Journalism and Mass Communication