Friday, September 30, 2022

Donald Letendre, dean and professor in the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, was named a recipient of the Robert G. Gibbs Distinguished Pharmacist Award. The honor was presented Sept. 22 by the Iowa Pharmacy Association (IPA).

The award recognizes a pharmacist for outstanding contributions to the profession and the IPA and is the highest recognition provided to a pharmacist by the organization. The honor is named after the IPA’s past executive officer who worked in the association from 1959-1979.

Donald Letendre.jpg
Donald Letendre

In addition to serving as dean and professor in the UI College of Pharmacy, Letendre is chairman of the board for UI Pharmaceuticals, an FDA-registered drug manufacturer.

Letendre embraces collaboration and student engagement to advance pharmacy in the state of Iowa. He provides IPA memberships to 100% of UI pharmacy students, making the UI the only college in the country to have total engagement.

Throughout his career, Letendre has led the development and implementation of practices that have greatly influenced safer medication distribution across the country. In Iowa, his efforts can be seen most recently in the opening of the UI’s state-of-the-art College of Pharmacy building, which is the first universally designed health sciences education facility in the country and serves as a hub for student pharmacists.

Established in 1980, the IPA is a state society that aims to promote safe and effective medication use as well as preserve and advance the interests of the profession.