Council on Teaching recognizes 29 teaching assistants for promoting learning, creativity
Wednesday, April 13, 2022

The University of Iowa Council on Teaching named 29 teaching assistants as recipients of the 2021 Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award. These awards have been given annually since 1988 to a select group of graduate teaching assistants who have effectively promoted learning and creativity both inside and outside the classroom while demonstrating enthusiasm and dedication to student success.

“Teaching assistants are vital to our mission of student success,” says Executive Vice President and Provost Kevin Kregel. “I am grateful for their dedication to our students and I thank them for all that they do to exemplify excellence in our classrooms.”

This year’s recipients are teaching assistants who taught for at least one semester during the spring, summer, or fall of 2021. Nominations for the awards were sought from undergraduate students, faculty, colleagues, departmental executive officers, and deans. Each awardee receives a certificate as well as a $1,000 award.

“The University of Iowa is fortunate to have many hardworking and innovative teaching assistants,” says Bruce Nottingham-Spencer, chair of the Council on Teaching and associate professor of instruction. “Each nomination for the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award includes letters of support from undergraduate students and those letters tell stories of learning, creativity, and intellectual exploration that are happening in our classrooms every day. Teaching assistants play an important role in the educational mission of the university and it is a pleasure to recognize the very best of them with this award.”

This year’s recipients include:

  • Ghadeer Abaido
  • Mary Ball
  • Karen Barkauskas-Goering
  • Tamar Bernfeld
  • Samuel Boucher
  • Annie Burkhart
  • Laura Carpenter
  • Benjamin Coldwell
  • Joseph Coll
  • Marie Culpepper
  • Megan Dehner
  • Jalen Dickson
  • Cassie Finley
  • Jonathan Gleason
  • Joseph Glover
  • Arran Gross
  • Madeline Hunsicker
  • Addison Huygens
  • Edward Keogh
  • Peter Larsen
  • Taylor Mayne
  • Max Sampson
  • John Sheridan
  • Allison Stickley
  • Adelheid Bethanny Sudibyo
  • Andrew Tan-Delli Cicchi
  • Jingwen (Gin) Tian
  • Jason Wang
  • Samantha Warren

More information about the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award can be found on the Council on Teaching website.