Tuesday, February 16, 2021

For the second consecutive year, The Daily Iowan was named the Iowa Newspaper Association’s (INA) 2021 Newspaper of the Year, the INA announced Feb. 11.

The award is presented to the newspaper that accumulates the highest point total from placing first, second, or third in each category.

The independent, student-run newspaper beat all other professional newspapers in the state, accumulating 48 awards—including 24 first-place awards—against other daily newspapers in the state with a circulation of less than 10,000. The newspaper won the association’s top honor for the second straight year and fourth time (1976, 1981, 2020, 2021) in the award’s 52-year history.

“I could not be prouder of the work of our student-led newsroom, especially for their reporting on all the important news during the pandemic to keep the UI community informed on the latest developments,” says Publisher Jason Brummond.

Marissa Payne and Sarah Watson served as editors during the contest period.

First-place awards

  • General Excellence
  • Coverage of Government and Politics
  • Coverage of Education
  • Coverage of Agriculture
  • Coverage of Business
  • Coverage of Court and Crime
  • Total Newspaper Design
  • Best Use of Graphics
  • Best Newspaper Website
  • Best Use of Social Media
  • Best Podcast – "On the Record"
  • Best Slideshow – Shivansh Ahuja and Ryan Adams
  • Best Breaking News Photo – Katie Goodale
  • Best Sports Photo – Shivansh Ahuja
  • Best Photo Story – Katina Zentz and Katie Goodale
  • Best Photographer – Katie Goodale
  • Best News Feature Story – Katelyn Weisbrod
  • Best Sports Story – Anna Kayser
  • Best Sports Feature Story – Shivansh Ahuja
  • Master Columnist – Elijah Helton
  • Best Ad Designer – Heidi Owen
  • Best Web Advertisement – Heidi Owen
  • Best Ad Featuring Financial, Insurance or Other Professional Service – Heidi Owen
  • Best Ad Featuring Automotive, Boats, Tires, etc. – Heidi Owen

Second-place awards

  • Best Class of Advertising
  • Best Front Page
  • Best Feature Page
  • Best Video
  • Best Slideshow
  • Best News Feature Story – Julia Shanahan
  • Best Personality Feature Story – Anna Kayser
  • Best Sports Story – Pete Ruden
  • Best Sports Columnist – Robert Read
  • Best Breaking News Photo – Jeff Sigmund
  • Best Sports Feature Photo – Shivansh Ahuja
  • Best Photo Story – Katina Zentz
  • Best Photographer – Katina Zentz
  • Best Ad Featuring Financial, Insurance, or Other Professional Service
  • Best Special Section Advertising
  • Best Web Advertisement – Heidi Owen

Third-place awards

  • Best of Class Advertising
  • Best Slideshow – Katie Goodale
  • Best News Feature Story – Caleb McCullough
  • Best Sports Feature Story – Anna Kayser
  • Best News Photo – Shivansh Ahuja
  • Best News Feature Photo – Katina Zentz
  • Best Photo Story – Jeff Sigmund
  • Best Photographer – Shivansh Ahuja
  • Best Ad Featuring Miscellaneous – Heidi Owen
  • Best Ad Series or Campaign Featuring Any Service or Merchandise Category – Heidi Owen