Tuesday, November 26, 2019

Executive Vice President and Provost Montse Fuentes has named Amy Kristof-Brown interim dean of the University of Iowa Tippie College of Business, effective March 1, 2020.

Amy Kristof-Brown
Amy Kristof-Brown

Kristof-Brown currently serves as senior associate dean and Henry B. Tippie Research Professor of Management in the college. 

“I look forward to working with Amy and know that the college will be in very capable hands during this transition,” says Fuentes. 

Sarah Gardial, dean of the Tippie College, announced in October that she will leave the UI to become dean of the Massey College of Business at Belmont University in Nashville, Tenn., effective March 1. Gardial has served as dean since 2012.

“I want to thank Sarah for her outstanding leadership,” says Fuentes. “She has been a wonderful colleague and she will be missed.”

Kristof-Brown’s appointment must be approved by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa.

In addition, Fuentes has named Amy Colbert, professor and department executive officer of management and entrepreneurship in the Tippie College of Business, and Alec Scranton, professor and dean of the College of Engineering, as co-chairs of the search committee for a new dean.

Search committee members include: 

  • Emily Brannon, Tippie College of Business alumna and member of the Tippie Young Alumni Board
  • Samuel Burer, professor, Department of Business Analytics 
  • Catherine Cole, professor, Department of Marketing  
  • Kent Clark, vice president for main campus development, UI Center for Advancement 
  • Jack Evans, Tippie College of Business alumnus and member of the Tippie Advisory Board
  • Jarrin Flores, undergraduate student, Tippie College of Business 
  • Sarah Frank, lecturer, Department of Economics
  • Valerie Glanz, assistant director, Registrar Services and Graduate Management Programs, Tippie College of Business
  • Cristi Gleason, professor, Department of Accounting  
  • Cooper LaRue, graduate student, Tippie College of Business 
  • Erik Lie, professor, Department of Finance
  • John Murry, associate professor, Department of Marketing
  • Gabriela Rivera, assistant director, diversity, equity, and student success, Tippie College of Business
  • Joseph Yockey, professor, College of Law

The committee has selected the search firm Witt-Kieffer to assist with the process. A new dean is expected to be in place by the beginning of the fall 2020 semester.