Thursday, September 19, 2019

A University of Iowa physicist is one of a select group of scientists from around the world elected as a 2019 fellow to the American Physical Society.

Gregory Howes, associate professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, was nominated to be a fellow for his research on "fundamental contributions to understanding of turbulence in weakly collisional, magnetized plasmas, especially the nature of energy dissipation mechanisms.”

The APS Fellowship Program recognizes members who have made exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise in physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education.

Each year, no more than one half of 1% of the society membership is recognized by their peers for election to the status of Fellow in the American Physical Society. This year, 168 Fellows were selected and recognized for their contributions to science.

To view the complete list of the 2019 APS Fellows and their citations, or to search all APS Fellows to date, visit the APS Fellow Archive.