Monday, May 9, 2016

Under the guidance of Senior Scholar Judith Pascoe, the Studio Scholars Program steering committee has selected 10 University of Iowa faculty members and five graduate students for digital humanities support, which will come in the form of resources, expertise, technical assistance, and access to specialized equipment for their projects.

The Studio Scholars Program, administered by the UI Libraries’ Digital Scholarship & Publishing Studio, is a faculty research group dedicated to supporting faculty projects related to the digital humanities. Five DH initiatives in two categories will receive support.

Digital Archives Initiatives Awards  

  • Embracing Difference in Iowa
    Michael Hill, associate professor, English
  • Memory & Knowledge
    Frances Cannon, MFA student, nonfiction writing
    Heidi Lung, lecturer, museum studies and anthropology
    Heather Wacha, Ph.D. candidate, history

DH Jumpstart Initiatives Awards

  • Get Digital With Your Scholarship
    Jenna Supp-Montgomerie, assistant professor, religious studies and communication studies
    Kim Marra, professor, theatre arts and American studies
    Brenda Longfellow, associate professor, art & art history
    Anne Stapleton, lecturer, English
    Natalie Fixmer-Oraiz, assistant professor, communication studies
  • Get Digital With Your Dissertation
    Briana Smith, Ph.D. student, history
    Gemma Goodale-Sussen, Ph.D. student, English
    Mary Wise, Ph.D. student, history
  • DH Researcher
    Paul Dilley, assistant professor, classics and religious studies
    Loren Glass, professor, English
    Julia Oliver Rajan lecturer, Spanish and Portuguese

Read the full project descriptions here.