Friday, April 24, 2015

Six University of Iowa students earned National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowships for the 2015-16 academic year. 

Recipients include graduate students Johnathan Culpepper (engineering – environmental), Ananda Guneratne (engineering - optical engineering), Maria Noterman (life sciences – neurosciences), Victoria Spring (psychology – social), and Jennifer Verniero (physics and astronomy – plasma); and Jocelyn Todd, a senior undergraduate student majoring in mechanical engineering.

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP), which started in 1952, awards fellowships to outstanding graduate students based on their demonstrated potential for significant achievements in science and engineering. The NSF award provides three years of financial support within a five-year fellowship period ($34,000 annual stipend and $12,000 cost-of-education allowance to the graduate institution) for graduate study that leads to a research-based master's or doctoral degree. Applicants are selected through the NSF peer review process.

Read more about the UI’s 2015 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program winners.