Tuesday, February 4, 2014

The University of Iowa School of Music will present a free performance by John McGrosso, first violinist of the Arianna String Quartet, and Réne Lecuona, UI professor of piano, at 3 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 16, in Riverside Recital Hall on the UI campus.

The program will feature:

  • Sonata in C Major for solo violin, BWV1005 by J.S. Bach
  • Sonata No. 7 for Piano and Violin in C minor, Op. 30, No. 2 by Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Imprimitivity for solo piano by Lawrence Fritts, associate professor of composition and music theory in the UI School of Music
  • Sonata No. 1 for Violin and Piano in D major, Op. 94bis by Sergei Prokofiev
john mcgrosso
John McGrosso

Hailed by the Boston Globe as “first class, with a robust sound and technique that seems to come from the center of the person,” McGrosso has been the first violinist of the Arianna String Quartet since 1998. He has been featured as a soloist with the Chicago Symphony and the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, and has performed in recital to critical acclaim throughout the United States. He has taught on the faculties of Illinois Wesleyan University, the University of Missouri-Columbia, and Eastern Michigan University, and is currently an associate professor of violin at the University of Missouri-St. Louis, where the Arianna Quartet is tenured and has been in residence since 2000.

Rene Lecuona portrait
Réne Lecuona

Lecuona has performed in Italy, Mexico, Ecuador, Peru, and throughout Brazil, Argentina, and the U.S. In the summer of 2013 she performed with Trio 826 in France at Château du Tertre (in the Perche region) and at the Fival Festival (in the Ardèche region), and most recently with cellist Hannah Holman on the Hereford Arts concert series in Manhattan. Lecuona was awarded a Performer’s Certificate and a DMA at the Eastman School of Music. She received undergraduate and master's degrees at Indiana University. Her teachers have included Menahem Pressler, the late György Sebök, Edward Auer, Shigeo Neriki, and Rebecca Penneys. A devoted teacher, her students hold teaching posts in Brazil, Colombia, and the United States.

lawrence fritts
Lawrence Fritts

Fritts is an American composer born in Richland, Wash., in 1952. He received his doctorate in composition at the University of Chicago, where his teachers included Shulamit Ran, Ralph Shapey, and John Eaton. He has directed the UI Electronic Music Studios since 1994. His recent works combine instruments and voice with electronics. As a composer, he is interested in musical applications of mathematical group theory and has written a number of papers on the subject. He serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Mathematics and Music.

The School of Music is part of the Division of Performing Arts in the UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all UI-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this reading, contact the School of Music in advance at 319-335-1603.

For a UI arts calendar and details about upcoming events visit the Arts Iowa website.