Achievements: UI faculty, staff, students, and alumni making news

Achievements: UI faculty, staff, students, and alumni making news

Main Page Content

Jump to:

Offices and Awards

Offices and Awards

The Northeast Iowa Chapter of the American Association of Occupational Health Nurses recently bestowed Kerri Rupe, associate professor in the College of Nursing, with its Medique Leadership Award.

Ching-Long Lin, professor of mechanical and industrial engineering, faculty research engineer at IIHR—Hydroscience & Engineering, and researcher at the Iowa Institute for Biomedical Imaging, has been elected a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

Lin's current research at the College of Engineering focuses on multiscale simulation of gas flow and particle transport in the human lungs, turbulent flow in complex geometry, fluid-structure interaction, and parallel computing.

ASME is a not-for-profit professional organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing and skill development across all engineering disciplines, while promoting the vital role of the engineer in society.

The UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences has announced the following faculty awards:

(The following faculty award recipients were previously published in the April 25th Achievements roundup with incorrect names and awards. Following is the correct version:)


Teresa Mangum, director of the Obermann Center for Advanced Studies, received the Distinguished Achievement Award, Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women.

Phillip Round, professor in the Department of English, received the May Brodbeck Humanities Fellowship.

Michael Flatte, professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, and Sarah Larsen, professor in the Department of Chemistry, received the Regents Awards for Faculty Excellence.

Jay Holstein, professor in the Department of Religious Studies, received the President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence.

Vicki Grassian, professor in the Department of Chemistry, has been awarded Scholar of the Year from the Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development


The Multi-Ethnic Students Association (MESA) at the College of Engineering has received the African American Studies Community Service Award from the University of Iowa.

The award recognizes MESA for serving people and diverse communities, addressing important community issues through service, participating in activities that have had a measurable impact on the community, demonstrating exemplary commitment to volunteerism, and contributing to organized cultural and community endeavors.


Deborah Thumma, University Communication and Marketing, 319-384-0006


Email Button