Honors UI names 2017–18 BTAA ALP fellows

The University of Iowa has named five faculty recipients of 2017–18 Big Ten Academic Alliance Leadership Program fellowships.

Honors Algharrawi earns UI Research Foundation inventor award

The UI’s Khalid Algharrawi has received the 2016 University of Iowa Research Foundation Inventor Award for his research project involving the production of 7-methylxanthne from caffeine and theobromine via the metabolic engineering of E. coli.

Appointments Damiano to serve on ADEA Legislative Advisory Committee

Peter Damiano, professor of preventive and community dentistry in the University of Iowa College of Dentistry and Dental Clinics and director of the Public Policy Center and the PPC’s Health Policy Research Program, has been invited to serve on the Legislative Advisory Committee of the American Dental Education Association.

Appointments Stewart, Colbert appointed to Tippie research chairs

Greg Stewart and Amy Colbert, professors of management and organizations in the UI Tippie College of Business, have been appointed to new chairs in the college. Stewart has been appointed to the Mary H. Bell Chair in Leadership, and Colbert to the Leonard A. Hadley Chair in Leadership.

Honors Bariatric surgery program achieves national accreditation

The University of Iowa Health Care bariatric surgery program has been accredited as a Comprehensive Center under the Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Accreditation and Quality Improvement Program (MBSAQIP), a joint program of the American College of Surgeons and the American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery.
man with daughter by statue

UI professor gets a firsthand look at the business of lawmaking

David Cwiertny provides scientific expertise as staffer for House Committee on Energy and Commerce
UI engineering professor David Cwiertny decided to spend his sabbatical working for the House Committee on Energy and Commerce and hopes his experience will inform his next course, Politics and Economics of Food, Energy and Water Systems. Cwiertny recently sat down with “Iowa Now” to discuss his time in D.C.

Honors Thornburg receives Lola Lopes Award for Undergraduate Student Advocacy

Kelly Thornburg, director of scholar development with the University of Iowa Honors Program, is the recipient of the 2017 Lola Lopes Award for Undergraduate Student Advocacy in recognition of her work serving undergraduate students and the undergraduate experience.
graduate leaping off rock while others watch

Looking back at spring 2017 commencement ceremonies

...and forward to the final commencement, for the College of Dentistry, May 26
UI graduates celebrated a series of commencements May 11–14. From the Carver College of Medicine to the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Hawkeyes cheered and shed some tears at the closing of an important chapter in their lives. Read a recap and check out some photos of the festivities.