PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

Garth Greenwell, Yaa Gyasi, and Adam Haslett with book covers

Three Iowa Writers’ Workshop alumni win big in literary awards season

Garth Greenwell, Yaa Gyasi, and Adam Haslett, among others, recognized nationally
Alumni from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop won an exceptional number of national literary awards in this year’s awards season. The novels of three alumni in particular—Adam Haslett, Garth Greenwell, and Yaa Gyasi—received numerous honors. Workshop director Lan Samantha Chang says alumni were heavily represented in all categories of literary award.

Workshop alum Alarcon finalist for PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop alumnus Daniel Alarcón is one of five finalists for the 2014 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, America’s largest peer-juried prize for fiction. Alarcón is nominated for “At Night We Walk in Circles,” published by Riverhead Books.