National Humanities Medal

Garth Greenwell, Yaa Gyasi, and Adam Haslett with book covers

Three Iowa Writers’ Workshop alumni win big in literary awards season

Garth Greenwell, Yaa Gyasi, and Adam Haslett, among others, recognized nationally
Alumni from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop won an exceptional number of national literary awards in this year’s awards season. The novels of three alumni in particular—Adam Haslett, Garth Greenwell, and Yaa Gyasi—received numerous honors. Workshop director Lan Samantha Chang says alumni were heavily represented in all categories of literary award.

Honors UI alumnus awarded National Humanities Medal

Physician and author Abraham Verghese, who received an MFA from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop in 1991, is among the recipients of the 2015 National Humanities Medal.

Robinson to receive National Humanities Medal

Ceremony to be held July 10 at White House
Marilynne Robinson, Pulitzer Prize–winning author and faculty member in the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop, will be awarded a 2012 National Humanities Medal by President Obama in a ceremony Wednesday, July 10, at the White House.