UI announces Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award recipients

UI announces Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award recipients

The University of Iowa recently named the recipients of the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award. The awards are given annually to a few of the many graduate teaching assistants who spark learning and creativity in the classroom.

The awardees are teaching assistants who taught for at least one semester during the spring, summer, or fall of 2015. Nominations for the awards were sought from students, faculty, colleagues, departmental officers, and deans.

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award recipients

  • Heidi Aijala, Rhetoric
  • Landon Elkind, Philosophy
  • Mohssen Ghamari, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
  • Gemma Goodale-Sussen, English
  • Jennifer Jackl, Communication Studies
  • Madhur Satish Joshi, Chemistry
  • Erin J. Kelleher, English
  • Jeffrey Landgren, Mathematics
  • Natalie Langenfeld, Biostatistics
  • Alex Layng, Earth and Environmental Sciences
  • Rebeccah J. Mackinnon, Mathematics
  • Eric Moy, Journalism and Mass Communication
  • Katherine H. Nesbit, Rhetoric
  • Timothy Orme, Cinematic Arts
  • Marija E. H. Reiff, English
  • Daniel L. Rodman, Mathematics
  • Cicily J. Ronhovde, Chemistry
  • Ann M. Sand, Rhetoric
  • Jennifer A. Schmidt, Chemistry
  • Jon Scholte, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering
  • Chloe M. Schroeder, Chemistry
  • Joel T. Sharbrough, Biology
  • Josiah B. Smalley, Mathematics
  • Emily J. Waddle, Philosophy
  • William Ward, Earth and Environmental Sciences
  • David Zahrieh, Biostatistics
  • Ze Zhao, Mathematics

More information about the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award can be found on the Council of Teaching website.