STEM Advisory Council to renew UI/Kirkwood hub partnership

STEM Advisory Council to renew UI/Kirkwood hub partnership

The executive committee of the Iowa Governor’s Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Advisory Council has voted to renew hub partnerships with all six of its current regional STEM hub institutions for another three-year term beginning next summer.

The institutions include Iowa Lakes Community College (Northwest Region), Iowa State University (North Central Region), University of Northern Iowa (Northeast Region), Southwest Iowa Community College (Southwest Region), Drake University (South Central Region), and University of Iowa/Kirkwood Community College (Southeast Region).

“Iowa’s system of STEM regions operating through the six hubs allows us to deliver outstanding STEM opportunities to children throughout Iowa,” says Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds, co-chair of the STEM Council. “Each institution has exceeded our hopes and expectations regarding support for our regional STEM managers. We are grateful to the professionals on each campus who make this system work.”

In addition, the STEM Council agreed to require each regional hub institution in the coming year to collaborate with a set number of partner institutions in its region.

“The great work being done in STEM across Iowa is really the result of local partnerships forged through our network of hub institutions and regional managers,” says Vermeer CEO Mary Andringa, co-chair of the STEM Council.

News About: