Media Professionals

Media Professionals

Main Page Content

Iowa Now is the official, one-stop source for University of Iowa news produced by University Communication and Marketing and partners across campus. Most of the items once labeled "press releases" or "news releases" are now presented as stories aimed at multiple audiences.

We encourage media professionals who regularly report on the university to follow Iowa Now feeds or subscribe to email alerts to get the latest UI news.

UCM will occasionally publish content aimed primarily at journalists, such as alerts about special media-only events, public statements, advisories, etc. We’ll distribute that content via Iowa Now and directly to media professionals as needed.

Contacts

University spokesperson

Contact

E-mail address

Phone

Tom Moore thomas-moore@uiowa.edu 319-356-3945

University News Services

General media inquiries: 319-384-0000

Contact

E-mail address

Phone

Director: Steve Pradarelli stephen-pradarelli@uiowa.edu 319-384-0007
Assistant director: Lois Gray lois-gray@uiowa.edu 319-384-0077
Public records: Steve Parrott steven-parrott@uiowa.edu 319-384-0037

UCM staff liaisons

See the Iowa Now contacts page for a list of UCM staff who serve as liaisons to the university’s colleges and other major units.

UI Health Care Media Relations

Contact

E-mail address

Phone

Tom Moore thomas-moore@uiowa.edu 319-356-3945
Jennifer Brown jennifer-l-brown@uiowa.edu 319-356-7124
Molly Rossiter molly-rossiter@uiowa.edu 319-356-7127

UI Department of Athletics external relations

Contact

E-mail address

Phone

Rick Klatt rick-klatt@uiowa.edu 319-335-9431

Resources

Public records

Information about filing open records requests, a log of pending and previous requests, and a list of records available online.

Contact: Steve Parrott, steven-parrott@uiowa.edu or 319-384-0037

Social media

The university’s central Facebook page, Twitter feed, and YouTube EDU channel, updated multiple times daily.

Contact: Aaron Blau, aaron-blau@uiowa.edu or 319-384-0018

Master calendar

Overview of UI campus events, including lectures, concerts, exhibits, and much more.

Contact: Penny Kaelber, penny-kaelber@uiowa.edu or 319-335-3058

Election resources

Experts, Hawkeye Poll results, and other information for journalists covering national politics and Iowa.

Contact: Tom Snee, t om-snee@uiowa.edu or 319-384-0010

Photos

Regularly updated galleries of photos for campus use, as well as information about photo archive requests.

Contact: Tom Jorgensen, tom-jorgensen@uiowa.edu or 319-384-0051

Maps

Building locater maps and related information about the UI campus.

Contact: Wendy Brown, wendy-brown@uiowa.edu or 319-335-0557

UI facts

Regularly updated info on university demographics, rankings, history, and other data.

Contact: Wendy Brown, wendy-brown@uiowa.edu or 319-335-0557

Other UI news sources

Links to additional sites with news about the University of Iowa are available on our Other UI News Sources page.

News and Information archives

Links to pre-2012 news releases, internal communications, and more can be found from our Archives page.