Achievements: UI faculty, staff, students, and alumni making news

Achievements: UI faculty, staff, students, and alumni making news

Main Page Content

Jump to:

Offices and Awards


Offices and Awards


Jeff Salsbery, University of Iowa Police Department (UIPD) officer, received the first-ever Officer of the Year Award from the UI Department of Public Safety.

In addition to his regular duties,Salsbery serves as a bomb technician with the Johnson County Metro Bomb Squad. According to Chuck Green, director of UI Public Safety, Salsbery was nominated by his peers for being an “exemplary and well-rounded law enforcement officer” who has demonstrated “a distinct pattern of community service coupled with professional achievement.”

“Salsbery is usually first on scene and first to help his fellow officers and the community. He treats every case with the fervor of an investigator well beyond his years,” says Green.

The award was given last month to coincide with National Police Week, and was organized by UI Public Safety Crime Prevention Specialist Officer Oleta McKenna. Other UIPD nominees, all of whom received honorable mentions, are as follows:

  • Jaclyn Anderson, officer
  • TravisTyrrell, officer
  • Gabriella Blanchard-Manning, officer
  • Alton Poole, officer
  • TerryBringman, investigator
  • ElishaHotchkin, investigator

Penni Ryan, director of alumni relations and continuing education in the UI College of Dentistry and Dental Clinics, received the Past President Award at the Mu Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon, the national dental honor society, Annual Banquet on June 5.


Ibrahim T. Ozbolat, assistant professor of mechanical and industrial engineering, has received the 2014 Chao and Trigger Young Manufacturing Engineer Award and the 2014 Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award, administered by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME), respectively.

Ozablat received the awards for “significant contributions” to the bioprinting of 3D tissue and organ manufacturing during a June 11 banquet at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor.

William Ming Liu, professor in the College of Education, has been appointed incoming editor for Psychology of Men & Masculinity, a journal of the American Psychological Association.

Dr. Tad R. Mabry, associate professor in the department of pediatric dentistry in the College of Dentistry, was inducted as a Mu Chapter faculty member.

OKU was founded in 1914 and was established to promote and recognize scholarship and character among students of dentistry. OKU members are selected from among the highest ranking students in the senior class. Faculty members who are dentists in a dental school may be elected to membership and be recognized for their outstanding contributions to the art, science, or literature of dentistry. Honorary faculty members may be elected if they have made an outstanding contribution to the art, science or literature of dentistry. Election to OKU is one of the highest honors in the dental profession.

Margot Livesey, Ayana Mathis, and Charles D’Ambrosio, visiting instructors at the Iowa Writers' Workshop over the past several years, have been appointed permanent Workshop faculty members.

Livesey, Mathis, and D’Ambrosio will teach Graduate Fiction Workshop courses and Form of Fiction seminars to students enrolled in the graduate creative writing program. For more information visit here.


Justin Anderson, third-year student in the College of Dentistry, was awarded the William S. Kramer Award of Excellence at the Mu Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU), the national dental honor society with the College of Dentistry, Annual Banquet on Thursday, June 5, 2014.

The William S. Kramer Award of Excellence is presented annually to a third-year dental student on the basis of scholarship, character, and potential promise for future advancement of the profession of dentistry and service to humanity. The award honors Dr. William Kramer, pediatric dentist and former president of the Supreme Chapter of OKU.

Janet L. Boyes, Brooke Sunstrum, David P. Gugliano, Lauren E. Harvey, Amber Lynn McCarville, Katie Naberhaus, Sarah Rinehart, Christina Jesberg and Jessica M. Wilke, fourth-year students in the College of Dentistry, were inducted into Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU), the national dental honor society at the OKU Annual Banquet on June 5, 2014. The students received their traditional OKU keys and membership certificates from Dr. Mickey Spector, president of the Mu OKU Chapter, assistant professor in the department of family dentistry.

Graduate student Emily Michener, has been elected student board member to the Iowa Mental Health Counseling Association.


The Medicine Alumni Society in the UI Carver College of Medicine announced its 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients. Awards were given in three categories: achievement, service, and early career achievement, and were presented at a June 6 ceremony. The awardees are as follows:


  • Francis Castellino (Master of Science 1966, Ph.D. in biochemistry 1968) is the current director of the W.M. Keck Center for Transgene Research and dean emeritus of the College of Science at the University of Notre Dame.
  • Gerald F. Gebhart ( Master of Science 1969, Ph.D in Pharmacology 1971) is the founding director of the Pittsburgh Center for Pain Research and a professor at the University of Pittsburgh.
  • Michael Welsh (Bachelor of Science 1971, MD 1974 and Internal Medicine resident 1977) is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator whose research has revolutionized the way people think about cystic fibrosis.


  • Larry Beaty (Bachelor of Arts 1969, M.D. 1973) is a Marshalltown, Iowa, family physician and has devoted most of his career to leadership roles in programs training UI medical students and family practice residents.
  • Thomas Jessen (Bachelor of Science 1964, M.D. 1968) has been a family physician in Newton, Iowa, for 40 years and is a dedicated community supporter.

Early Career Achievement

  • Andrew Nugent (Bachelor of Science 1992, M.D. 1996) is the chair and department executive officer of emergency medicine at the UI Carver College of Medicine, and was instrumental in creating Iowa’s only emergency medicine residency program.
  • Colin West (Master of Science 1995, M.D. 1999, Ph.D in biostatistics 1999) is a professor and member of the general internal medicine staff at Mayo Clinic, where he conducts groundbreaking research on quality of life issues.


University of Iowa Affiliated Health Providers, L.C. has received a 2014 Case in Point Platinum Award from Decision Health for its Medicare Accountable Care Organization (ACO) that links University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics with Mercy Medical Center in Cedar Rapids.

The ACO employs eight nurse care coordinators and one health coach, along with other coordinators in inpatient, home wellness palliative, hospice, and long-term care settings for Medicare patients with chronic conditions. Their efforts have resulted in significant increases in clinical compliance and patient engagement.

The award honors case management excellence in health care. Mercy-Cedar Rapids and UI Hospitals and Clinics formed their ACO in 2012 as a joint venture. The goals of the ACO include delivering a more patient-centered experience through enhanced care coordination and integration, providing patients with a broader, more comprehensive range of health care services, and improving access, screening, and preventive care.



Omar Valerio-Jimenez, associate professor in history, was recently interviewed by New Books Network about his 2013 publication, “River of Hope: Forging Identity and Nation in the Rio Grande Borderlands.” You can listen to the interview here.


Deborah Thumma, Office of Strategic Communication, 319-384-0006


Email Button