Achievements: UI faculty, staff, students, and alumni making news

Achievements: UI faculty, staff, students, and alumni making news

Main Page Content

Offices and Awards


John Hosp and Christopher Morphew, professors in the University of Iowa College of Education, were inducted into the Iowa Academy (IAE) of Education during the annual meeting at Iowa State University on Oct. 25.

The Iowa Academy of Education was created by the First In the Nation in Education Foundation, a private, nonprofit organization dedicated to improving student learning through the use of educational research.The academy’s principal function is to inform educational policies and practices in the state of Iowa through the scholarly consideration and analysis of significant educational issues.

Ramji Balakrishnan, professor of accounting in the Tippie College of Business, received the Impact on Management Accounting Practice Award from the Management Accounting Section of the American Accounting Association. This is the second consecutive year Balakrishnan has received the award.

Barry Thomas, associate professor of management sciences in the Tippie College of Business, has been elected to the INFORMS Transportation Science and Logistics Society.

Dr. Veerasathpurush Allareddy, associate professor in the College of Dentistry and Dental Clinics, will be awarded two Society of Critical Care Medicine scientific awards for the following studies:

  • Outcomes of Bone Marrow Transplant Patients with Acute Respiratory Failure Requiring Mechanical Ventilation.
  • Pediatric Fatalities at 30,000 Feet: Characterizing Pediatric Deaths on Commercial Airline Flights

Allareddy will receive the awards at the 43rd Critical Care Congress Jan. 9-13, 2014, in San Francisco, Calif.


Chen Cui, a doctoral student in the UI College of Engineering, recently completed training to join Stanford University's "University Innovation Fellows," a national program that empowers engineering student leaders to increase entrepreneurial activity on their campuses.

The program is supported by the National Science Foundation, Stanford University, and the National Collegiate Inventors and Innovators Alliance, and has been promoted by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Aundrea Watkins, a University of Iowa senior from Muscatine, Iowa, who is pursuing her elementary education degree through the UI Colleges of Education, was selected for the Iowa Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (IASFAA) Student Success Story of the Year Award.

She was presented with her award Thursday, Nov. 7, at the fall IASFAA conference in Dubuque. Cindy Seyfer, senior associate director of UI Student Financial Aid, nominated Watkins, who has received significant support from grants and scholarships while overcoming major hardships in her life.

Watkins will graduate in May of 2014 and will go on to inspire youth just as she was inspired by her own teachers, according to her nomination.


The UI College of Dentistry and Dental Clinics was recently awarded the Merit Award of Excellence by the American Institute of Architects, Iowa Chapter. The addition was designed by INVISION Architecture.


Deborah Thumma, University Communication and Marketing, 319-384-0006


Email Button