Achievements: UI faculty, staff, students, and alumni making news

Achievements: UI faculty, staff, students, and alumni making news

Main Page Content

Jump to:

Offices and Awards


Gautam Pant, associate professor of management sciences in the UI Tippie College of Business, has been named associate editor of the year for his work on the Information Systems Research Journal.

Ann Marie McCarthy, professor and associate dean for research at UI College of Nursing, was presented with the distinguished 2013 Teresa E. Christy Award by the Iowa Nurses Association (INA).

Established in 1982, the Teresa E. Christy Award is presented to a registered nurse who has demonstrated professional commitment to the improvement of health care and the interrelationship of nursing education, nursing practice, and nursing research.

McCarthy was presented with the award at INA’s annual convention held Oct. 13-15 at the Coralville Marriott.

Malik Henfield, associate professor in the College of Education, has been awarded the North Central Association for Counselor Education and Supervision Research Award.

The award will be presented at the 2013 Association for Counselor Education and Supervision conference in Denver, Colo., Oct. 17-20.

Patricia Clinton, Sue Gardner, Sue Moorhead and Barbara Rakel, faculty members in the College of Nursing, will be inducted into the 2013 Class of Fellows in the American Academy of Nursing (AAN).

Clinton, Gardner, Moorhead, and Rakel will be inducted by AAN during the Academy’s 40th annual meeting Saturday, Oct. 19, in Washington, D.C.

Marianne Smith, associate professor in the College of Nursing, has been selected to receive the 16th Edna Stilwell Writing Award.

Smith won the award for her article “Improving Antipsychotic Agent Use in Nursing Homes: Development of an Algorithm for Treating Problem Behaviors in Dementia,” published in the Journal of Gerontological Nursing. May.

Dr. Christopher Barwacz, Craniofacial Clinical Research Center and Department of Prosthodontics, has received a two-year $100,000 Dentsply IH AB grant to support a prospective, randomized clinical trial, "Peri-Implant Mucosa Dynamics Around Divergent and Concave Atlantis Abutment Transition Profiles."

Co-investigators include Dr. Gustavo Avila Ortiz, Department of Periodontics; Dr. Bridget Zimmerman, College of Public Health; and Dr. Clark Stanford, Dows and Department of Prosthodontics.

Dr. Satheesh Elangovan, assistant professor in the College of Dentistry, received the American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) Foundation Sunstar Research Fellowship for basic science at the AAP Foundation Signature Recognition Event held at the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

IowaWatch staff reporter Sarah Hadley (junior) received an IowaWatch/Fotini Perlmutter Undergraduate Award at the Celebrating a Free Press and Open Government Banquet on Oct. 3 in Iowa City.

This award is given to an IowaWatch journalist in good standing with the UI School of Journalism and Mass Communication and pursuing a career in explanatory reporting. It carries a $250 scholarship donated by David Perlmutter, the UI school’s former director.

Nineteen students from the UI College of Liberal Arts and Sciences have been named Public Anthropology Award winners. The students participated in a North American competition involving over 3,500 students from 25 schools.

For the names of the winners as well as their award winning opinion pieces visit here.

Lectures and presentations


Nicholas Colangelo, dean of the UI College of Education, will be the keynote speaker at the state conference of Iowa Gifted and Talented Association Oct. 21 in Des Moines. The lecture is titled: “Anti-Intellectualism.”

Colangelo will also be the keynote speaker Nov. 1 in Njimegen, Netherlands. The lecture is titled: “The Acceleration of Gifted Students: Research, Beliefs, and Practices”

Dr. Clark Stanford, College of Dentistry, presented the following lectures: "Health Technology Assessment for Management of Craniofacila Anomalies," at the University of Turku Sept. 17 in Laskut, Finland and "Advanced Care Strategies for Patients with Congenital Oligondontia," Sept. 19 at the International College of Prosthodonists Meeting in Turin, Italy.

Dr. Kim Brogden, College of Dentistry, presented, "HBD3 Regulated Chemokine and Cytokine Responses," in September at the 3rd International Meeting on Antimocrobial Peptides in London, UK.

Dr. Ronald Ettinger, College of Dentistry, presented the keynote address, "30 Years of a Teaching Service Geriatric Dentistry Program: What Works, What Doesn't," at the Third International Symposium on Geriatric Dentistry in Talca, Chile.

Ettinger also presented the following lectures, "Care and Management of the Frail Older Adult in the Private Dental Office," and "Meeting Oral Health needs to Promote the Well-Being of the Geriatric Population."

Dr. Gustavo Avila, College of Dentistry, presented, "Predictors of Healing Dynamic following Intraoral Bone Grafting," at the 99th Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Periodontology Sept. 28-30 in Philadelphia, Pa.



Gurnett DA; Kurth WS; Burlaga LF; Ness NF (Physics and Astronomy), an article: "In Situ Observations of Interstellar Plasma With Voyager 1." Science, Vol. 341, pp. 1489-1492, doi:10.1126/science.1241681, Sept. 27.

Menietti JD; Schippers P; Katoh Y; Leisner JS: Hospodarsky GB; Gurnett DA, Santolik O (Physics and Astronomy), an article: "Saturn Chorus Intensity Variations." Journal of Geophysical Research, Vol. 118, pp. 1-11, pp. 5592-5602, doi:10.1002/jgra.50529, Sept. 11.

DeVocht JW; Goertz CM; Hondras MA; Long CR; Schaeffer W; Thomann L; Spector M; Stanford CM, an article: "A pilot study of a chiropractic intervention for management of chronic myofascial temporomandibular disorder." J Am Dent Assoc 144(10):1154-1163;2013.


Deborah Thumma, University Communication and Marketing, 319-384-0006


Email Button